Healthy You: Chakras


Welcome to the New Year! It’s 2017 and, as I’ve mentioned before, holistic and spiritual health will be a trending topic throughout the year.  Now weather you’re looking into health and spirituality because it’s trendy or because it makes you feel good Chakras are a great starting point. I’ve studied this subject for a few years and love the theory of harnessing energy flow.

So let’s jump into this!

What are Chakras?
The origination of Chakras date back over two thousand years. They are defined as wheels of spinning energy located in specific areas of the body.  Each specific Chakra is linked to a specific area of the body and specific mental and health associations. There are different views on the color and actual amount of Chakras in the body depending on whether you’re looking at modern western theory or traditional eastern theory.

Why are they important?
Your Chakras control the energy that flows throughout your body. Sometimes they can get blocked, creating a stop in the natural flow of energy. This is said to cause mental and physical distress that manifests in the specific field each Chakra controls. For instance if you are noticing a block in your heart Chakra, you may experience endocrine dysfunction, asthma, or heart disease, and feelings like fear of not being loved enough.

And now I’ll give a brief overview on the 6 Chakras.


  1. The Root Chakra. Officially named Muladhara, the root chakra is found at the base of the spine and said to be red in color.  A healthy root chakra will be bright red and an unhealthy one will be dark or muddy in color. Balanced, this chakra will resonate security and stability. You should feel grounded and present. The Muladhara is associated with the adrenal gland, feet, legs, rectum, and large intestine. If your root chakra is off balance you may experience bowel issues, sciatica, and knee/lower back pain. An off balance root chakra may also cause feelings of irrational fear, spaciness, and an over identification with material objects.You can strengthen your Muladhara by visually taking in clear, bright shades of red. You can also take a walk outside, or spend time outdoors in general. A daily affirmation to strengthen your root chakra is “I am grounded and present in my life”.


  2. The Sacral Chakra. The sacral chakra, or Svadhisthana, is located in the lower abdomen/womb, and generally thought to be orange. A healthy root chakra will be vivid and bright. The sacral chakra governs pleasure, desire, sexuality, sensuality, creativity, and protection. It is associated with the uterus, genitals, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system and prostate.  This chakra helps experience enjoyment and the ability to process emotions and cope with change when balanced. When unbalanced the Svadhishthana can cause low labido, impotence, kidney/bladder/prostate issues, anemia, and stiff lower back. An unbalanced sacral chakra may also manifest as lack of emotion/responsiveness, out of control emotions, and sex addiction.You can strengthen your Svadhisthana by viewing clear, bright shades of orange. This shade is associated with life’s pleasures, so simply engaging in healthy activities that bring you pleasure is a great way to engage your sacral chakra. An affirmation for this chakra is “I feel pleasure to my core and allow myself to gain vital life force from it”.


  3. The Solar Plexus Chakra. The solar plexus chakra, or Manipura, is found in the area above your belly button and below your xiphoid process, this area is known as the solar plexus. This chakra is yellow in color and should be very bright/vivid. The Manipura is in charge of personal power, confidence, assertiveness, and will. A balanced solar plexus chakra helps with self-esteem, confidence, and free will, and can pave the way for a life of success and results. An unbalanced solar plexus chakra can lead to hypoglycemia, type 1 diabetes, ulcers and digestive disorders. If this chakra is unbalanced you can mentally experience excess anger, rage, and a “short-fuse”.You can strengthen your Manipura by viewing shades of clear yellow, and if overactive (anger), then you can view soft/pastel yellow. Vigorous exercise and strength training can also strengthen your solar plexus. You can also mentally silencing your inner critic to build self esteem by replacing negative thoughts with positive ones. A positive affirmation for this chakra is “I am confident and I stand in my power”.


  4.  The Heart Chakra. The heart chakra, or Anahata, is located at the center of the chest, and is bright green in color. The Anahata controls love, breath, balance, relationships, and unity. When in balance, this chakra will resonate feelings of love, being cared for, and you love yourself, you will also feel balanced and at peace. The heart chakra is associated with the thymus gland, heart, lungs, hands, and arms. If unbalanced you may experience lowered immunity, heart disease, asthma, and a fear of not being loved enough and not being able to fully receive love from others.You can strengthen your heart chakra by immersing yourself in love in a healthy, balanced way, such as giving unconditional love to pets (or friend’s pets). Dry brushing and deep breathing exercises can also be helpful. A daily affirmation for the Anahata is “I open my heart to the immense love in my life”.


  5. The Throat Chakra. The throat chakra, also know as Vishuddha, is located at the throat and is said to be blue. The throat chakra is associated with speech, communication, and creative expression. The Vishuddha is associated with the Thyroid, ears, and mouth. When it is healthy it brings the ability to let things go (especially our own past), there is no dwelling on the past, present, or future. If the Vishuddha is blocked, you may experience feelings of extreme guilt/shame, inability to express, fear of the future, and overall difficulty to live in the present.To balance this chakra you can meditate while repeating the word “ham” (pronounced Hahmm) to clear up blockages. It is encouraged to practice Dream Yoga to help develop your Vishuddha. A positive affirmation for the throat chakra is “I express myself with ease and grace”.


  6. The Third Eye Chakra. The third eye chakra, or Ajna, is found directly between the brows, above the eyes, and near the top of the spine. It is indigo in color. This chakra, when activated is said to govern spiritual awakening and transcendence. The Ajna is associated with the pineal and pituitary glands.  There is no definitive negative effects of an unopened third eye, though when awakened it is said to have intense spiritual and psychic (mental, not physical) effects and an overall connectedness.Light is required to awaken your Ajna, this can be natural sunlight or the light of consciousness/illumination. Meditation is recommended. A daily affirmation for the Ajna is “My intuition guides me for my highest good”.


  7. The Crown Chakra. The crown chakra, also known as Sahasrara is the last chakra, located at the top of the head, where our soft spot used to be when we were babies, and is said to be violet. The crown chakra represents enlightenment, pure awareness, creativity. A person with an activated crown chakra is said to be literally glowing, and fully aware, desiring nothing. An out of balance Sahasrara leads to insanity. Drugs are a huge hindrance to the awakening your crown chakra.The crown chakra is not easy to open and is said to take up to a lifetime to activate. Meditation and exercises are highly recommended. A positive affirmation is “I easily connect with universal life force”.


I hope you enjoyed learning about Chakras today. If you have any questions you can leave them in the comments below.
Xo, Miranda<3